top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Around the Kitchen Contest - Connie's Submission


It took me awhile to decide what to make for the contest, but I'm so happy with how it eventually turned out! I played around with putting flowers in the jars like our Flower Garden Mini quilt, I also thought about doing an entire wall of books like Jane Mount's beautiful art.

I love the idea of piecing fabric together in a "non-quilty" sort of way and really wanted to share that idea with all of you for this project. Piecing fabric is just sewing and can be made into anything, including a shirt!

Once I decided to sew a block into a garment, my first plan was to make an Inari Tee Dress with an aloe plant pocket. I played around with scale of the block and made a few pockets but in the end wasn't really excited about where it was going. So I switched gears.

I'm really inspired by Susan Eastman's work. I've been meaning to make a pieced garment for some time and thought this was a good time to do it. I love a boxy shaped top so I chose the Lou Box Top pattern. (This pattern is only available as a PDF on Sew DIY's website.)

When I finished the top I decided to echo the crosshatch design in the bird fabric with some stitching in the bottom. It's a fun detail that could even take store-bought clothes to the next level!

It took awhile to get here, but I am so happy with how my project turned out!

Just the details

Pattern - Lou Box Top

Fabric - Cacophony in Charcoal & Stripes in Cloud (similar)

Size - M/L

Adjustments - I brought it in a little on the sides and back seam to take out a little of the fullness. The pattern suggests using a drapey fabric. I used quilting cotton.

Can't wait to see all of your creations! There's still lots of time to join in on our Around the Kitchen Contest!

Connie

P.S. Make sure to check out Clem's, Angelique's and Roxanne's projects too!

bottom of page