top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Around the Kitchen Contest - Angelique's Submission


Hello all! I'm excited to share my Around the Kitchen project with you today!

I first tried paper piecing when the Around the Kitchen pattern came out last year, and loved it! It's like (almost) fool-proof precision piecing, which I really enjoy. I knew I wanted my project to be useful, or I wouldn't be excited to make it. I really enjoy cooking, baking and canning, so a new apron seemed like a fun idea. I decided to make the jar block for a pocket and chose fabrics to echo the vintage blue glass canning jars I have in my kitchen.

Half aprons are super easy to make and are what I usually gravitate towards in the kitchen. The pattern for this apron came from a book I already had called A is for Apron. But it's a pretty simple design. I made the jar block as is. Then I added 1-1/2" of sashing around the block just to see what it would be like - knowing I would trim it down. I trimmed the block to measure 6"x8". I backed the block by cutting a piece of fabric 6"x8" then sewing right sides together and turning out to keep all of my edges and strings enclosed. I couldn't resist adding the Ball embroidery to the jar - I think that's my favorite part!

I used some of my favorite Modern Textiles fabrics from my stash for the pieced trim at the bottom.

I'm really loving how it turned out! Making useful things that are unique and personalized is why I love sewing and creating. Projects are starting to come in for the contest and they are so much fun! I can't wait to see your entry. Be sure to check out all the contest details here, then come in to the shop and we'll help you get started (or grab the pattern here).

Happy Sewing!

Angelique

P.S. Make sure to check out Connie, Clem's and Roxanne's projects!


bottom of page