top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Around the Kitchen Contest - Roxanne's Submission


We've got more Around the Kitchen projects to share with you today! It's so hard for me to choose a favorite block in this pattern - they all hold a special place in my heart I guess! But for the project I had in my head I narrowed it down to just the jars.

My idea was to use two similar shades of grey solid fabric to try to give the illusion of the jars being half full (or half empty, depending on the jar and your perspective). The jars are full of some of my favorite floral fabrics. Before I started piecing the blocks I made six copies of the jar blocks and drew lines at different points within the jar. I attached the floral fabric first, stitching on the drawn line, then the grey, then finished up the blocks like normal. The cream woodgrain fabric has been in my stash for years. It seemed fitting to use it for the shelves.

I did a little free motion quilting inside the floral sections of each jar. I've got a lot of practicing to do before that's my go to quilting method, but it was a good place to start. For the top section of the jar I did a few lines to give it sort of a reflective look. The rest of the quilt I finished up with straight line quilting with my trusty walking foot.

My quilt is about 20" x 20". I love gardening and try to start most of my plants from seed. I think this will be the perfect wall decoration for my planting area in the basement.

How is your Around the Kitchen project coming? Projects are starting to trickle in and we are loving your creativity! Keep it coming!

There's still plenty of time to join the contest. Projects can be submitted until March 31st. Grab a copy of the pattern today and jump in!

Need more details on the contest? Find it here. Need to learn some paper piecing basics? Grab a spot in our next class.

We'll be back soon with more Around the Kitchen ideas!

Happy Sewing!

Roxanne

P.S. Make sure to check out Connie, Angelique, and Clem's projects!

bottom of page