top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Handmade Giving Gift Guide with Sara


We are so excited to have Sara Sunderlin on the blog today! She's got great gifts ideas to share - and there is still time to make them! Here's Sara!

Sara:

Ever wish you had a sewing clone about this time of the year? Maybe a Santa’s helper elf that could work at night completing projects while you slept? I always have grand plans for Handmade Giving in October when I start the very long list. I love making gifts and most specifically I LOVE mass production of gifts. Like so many things, my ideas are much, much bigger than my reality can tolerate. This year I worked a little faster so I wasn’t finishing sewing on Christmas Eve – been there, done that! At the time of this writing I only have one more project left and am planning to make only one of that item.

Large Zip Pouches

I have made dozens of the large zip pouches from the MT pattern. I love this pattern and find it very useful bag. I alter it slightly: I increase the size of the bag to accommodate a metal zipper; put a small piece of fabric on either end of the zipper so the corners turn square and add small box corners to give the pouch more room to hold a calendar or planner. This pattern is definitely a go to favorite to make and to use.

Flannel Cowls

The Mammoth Flannel is like no other flannel – so incredibly soft and in a class of it’s own. These flannel cowls could not be faster to make. Who wouldn’t love a snuggly flannel hug to keep their necks warm in the brutal winters we have. I customize the size of these depending on the person. I usually use ½ yard or less for the width; put a French seam on the short side and do a double turned hem on either long edge. I try to prewash this fabric before sewing these – washing makes them even softer. These cowls have been a huge hit over the years and are very popular gifts.

Gift Card Holders

These little guys are a bit addictive to make. I follow the tutorial found here. I usually cut out a dozen at a time and keep them on hand all year. They are perfect to give a gift card and a thank you note. It’s a fun way to use up some small pieces of those favorite fabrics in my stash. I have this snap set, and love it!!

Pillow Covers and Spares

This year I made a couple sets of pillow covers. The pillow forms at M+T are the BEST. If that awesome pillow form is covered with that comfy flannel it’s a sure hit. This year I had the idea to make a holiday pillow and a spare cover for another time of the year. One set has two flannel covers and the large one is a flannel and a canvas cover. These pillows are favorites at my house.

Reusable gift bags

I have to admit I was a little obsessed with the Reusable Gift Bag kits at the store this fall. I made some for fall and some for winter – birthday ones are in the works as well. In the Christmas set I made 8 of them at one time. They go together so quickly – all eight were sewn in the time it took to listen to one good Christmas movie. You can find the free pattern here.

Train Cases

This week I made the medium and large bag from the Crimson & Clover Train Cases pattern by Sew Sweetness. I had looked at this pattern for quite some time. These were a special request for a client who has a granddaughter that is a huge fan of hedgehogs so this fabric from Cotton + Steel was perfect. This pattern is definitely not for the first time sewist, but the instructions are well written and it fits together perfectly. It’s not a project to start on Christmas Eve. The inside of each bag has a series of pockets to store treasures in. I will definitely make this again, but not before Christmas!

Stack It Table Runner & Placemats:

I bought a fat quarter bundle of this adorable Christmas fabric to make the Stack It Table Runner, but made more blocks than I needed and made two placemats too! I'm gifting the placemats, but the table runner is all for me! All three came together in no time!

Thanks for sharing your beautiful projects with us Sara! We love your method of mass producing gifts.

Thanks for reading another Handmade Giving Gift Guide! We hope you enjoyed our series and it inspired you to keep working on your handmade gifts.

Happy Sewing and Merry Christmas!

bottom of page