top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Fancy Forest Quilt Journal - Part 2


Hello!

I'm back with another block from Fancy Forest under my belt! And good news - Fancy Fox is a breeze! Granted I was a little more confident in the process and my skills on this block, but there is significantly less piecing on these than the hedgehog. I had all four fox done in no time!

I hung my first finished block on the pegboard as I worked on the rest of the fox blocks. (I always do one block first to make sure I know what I'm doing before I start piecing them assembly-line style. I would hate to screw up all four the same way!) His eyes seemed to follow me everywhere I went!

I've found my best friend during this process is Best Press. A quick spray and press before I cut my strips into pieces stiffens them up just a bit so they shift less while I'm cutting. I spray and press each seam open as well. The seams flatten out so much more this way, which matters a lot on a project like this where each step seems to intersect with the previous.

I'm really trying to improve my precision piecing skills with this quilt. Might be because I'm sharing each block with all of you...which is a little more pressure than just showing a finished quilt! But I think it's a good step in my growth as a quilter. I feel like Best Press has definitely helped me with this, but I've got a few other tricks that I'll share on my next block. Stay tuned!

P.S. More exciting news! The Fancy Forest Quilt is now a class! Join me in July for the Fancy Fox, August for Hazel Hedgehog and September for the Bunny block. Come for all three or whichever works for you. Hope to see you there!

More Info:

Get your Fancy Forest Quilt pattern here and our Fancy Forest FQ starter pack so you can sew along with me.

bottom of page