top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Winter Retreat Sponsor Highlight BLOW'S SEW-N-VAC

WIth the Winter Retreat just a few weeks away, we wanted to share a little bit about our amazing sponsors. We are so fortunate to have such great small businesses in our community that are excited to come along side us to make events like this happen. (And we loved the chance to pick the brins of these successful, creative women! We learned some awesome stuff and we hope you do too!)

Our first sponsor is Blow's Sew-n-Vac! I got the chance to pick the brain of Kerry Finn, manager at Blow's. I have to tell you first that Kerry is one of our favorite people. She's been such a great source of encouragement for Connie and I since way back to the craft show booth days!

Can you tell us a little more about Blow's?

This year, Blow's Sew-n-Vac will celebrate their 60th year in business. We specialize in sewing machine and vacuum slaes and service. We carry Janome, Pfaff and Bernina sewing machines as well as Riccar, Miele, Oreck and Lindhaus vaccums. We repair all brands and provide free operator classes for all machines purchased at Blow's. Our business is unique in the fact that it has been in the same family for three generations. We pride ourselves with superior customer service and carrying on the legacy that Wilma Blow began in 1955.

Tell us about yourself Kerry!

I have been a manager at Blow's for seven year. Prior to working here I was a District Sales Manager and Educator with Bernina of America. I love to sell sewing machines to people who love to sew. I also get the privilage of being creative at work. When I'm not busy with work duties or helping customers, I do a little sewing and quilting for the store. My favorite part of work is helping customers with projects and showing them how to accomplish professional techniques with the right presser foot for their project.

How do you stay inspired and excited about sewing?

I get inspired from our great customers and friends who also love to sew. I like to keep up with different sewing and quilting blogs. I especially enjoy making one-of-a-kind custom, specialty items. I love to do anything from wedding alterations to making clothing for family and friends. This past year I designed a bra for Bras on Broadway and love the challenge! I enjoy sharing my work for the 'we all sew' blog and like to keep up with the latest on Craftsy and Pinterest.

Do you have other hppies that you enjoy besides sewing? How do you balance doing those things with work?

My favorite hobbies are cooking, gradening and sewing. Even though I work full time, I make time in the evenings to be in my studio and work on one of the (too many) projects that are in progress.

Any words of advice on living a creative lif?

I feel the best way to live a creative life is to keep exploring new techniques and surround yourself with creative people.

What are you working on right now?

Right now I am working on items for a wedding for our youngest son and future daughter-in-law. I am creating a purse for the bride and dresses for the little cousins who will be in the wedding.

What's coming up for Blow's?

We will be celebrating our 60th Anniversary this year with some great events and sales all year. You can stay up to date with Blow's on our website at www.blowssewandvac.com or on our Facebook page. The store is open 10am-8pm, Monday-Wednesday and 10am-5:30pm Thursday through Saturday.

We are so excited that Kerry will be joining us at the Winter Retreat and Blow's will have a booth setup to show off their awesome products. Kerry is a wealth of knowledge and will be doing some demos that weekend too!

Not signed up for the retreat yet? Time and space is running out - check out the details and register today!


bottom of page