top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Quilting doesn't have to be hard


I had so much fun making this quilt from our Strip Quilt instructions. I loved that I was able to start and finish it in just one evening.

What I did to make it go quickly: I stacked 3 fat quarters at a time when I cut the strips. Don't waste time thinking about the color layout. It truly works best if you put all of the strips in a pile and randomly put them together. I started by matching up pairs and chain piecing the pairs together. I repeated this process until I had all of the strips sewn into one long piece. You can read the full Strip Quilt instructions here, but trust me - it's so easy!

For the quilting I did a simple spiral. I picked a random spot on the quilt (I avoided the middle so that I didn't have to measure). Here is a great tutorial if you'd like to try this method. It's actually much easier to do than you might think! Trace a plate or a bowl for the center circle, then keep working your way around using the edge of your walking foot as your guide. I really think the spiral design helped smooth the quilt out as I went too, which is an added bonus!

One of my favorite things about this quilt is the organic fleece on the back. If you've been in the shop looking for quilt backing, we've probably shown our fleece samples and urged you to touch them. It's so nice to quilt with and it feels amazing!

Just the details:

Finished size: 38" x 52"

Top Fabric: 6 fat quarters (find lots of great bundles in the shop!

Backing: 1 1/2 yards (I used our dreamy Organic Cotton Fleece)

Binding: 1/2 yard

Don't stop at baby size Strip Quilts! Our free pattern includes sizes up to King. To see more examples check out this post.

Happy quilting!

Connie

bottom of page