top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Rope Tray


Have you tried making a rope bowl yet? We still are crazy about this technique. We taught a ton of folks how to make them at the Quilt Exhibit last month and it's been so fun to see all the amazing bowls made there and since then! Today I wanted to show my twist on the project, as well as the inspiration behind it.

Connie and I have both been big fans of Emily Henderson for years. Henderson is a stylist, blogger and author and Target spokesperson. We love her mix of vintage and modern and have always been drawn to her style and fresh perspective. Anyway, I like to read her blog and was reading this post when I spotted the tray. It was a gorgeous simple ceramic tray.

(Sidenote: I am a HUGE sucker for a good tray. Round, square, rectangle - love them all. Useful or not, don't care!) The tray pictured was handmade by a ceramic artist and was a mere $800! Yikes! Well I prefer a tray closer to the $8 range instead of $800, so I thought I would give it a try out of rope. I used about 150 feet of rope for the tray, so I went a little above my $8 budget, but I'm still really happy with it.

I added a little leather to the top row of rope on my tray because, well because it's leather. I filled it with leaves and such collected on a walk. A fun way to bring a little nature inside.

Ready to jump into Rope Bowl (or basket or tray) making with us? Join me on Saturday for the class! Here are some other fun version to get you thinking of what you'll make.

Happy Sewing!

-Roxanne

Roxanne Beauvais is co-owner of Modern Textiles. She is a writer, designer, teacher, reluctant accountant, mom and wife. You can follow her personally on Instagram @mtroxanne.


bottom of page