top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Everyday Style

Lotta Jansdotter's new book Everyday Style has hit the shelves! Roxanne gave me the book for my birthday and I spent the day reading it from cover to cover. I have to tell you I am in love with it! The book is visually gorgeous. Lotta takes her reader along on her "style" journey through a year and shows us not only how to make the beautiful clothing in her book but also how to style and wear them in different seasons. You can read a little more about the book on her blog. She used her friends and family of all ages and personalities as models in the book which makes it feel very real and relatable. I couldn't wait to dive in and make everything in the book! Here are my projects so far!

The first garment I made from the book is the Esme top. The Esme can be a top, tunic or kaftan.

The Esme top went together so smoothly that I made the tunic the same day!

I love the neckline of the Esme!

The following weekend I made the Kiomi Top. The book also includes a Kiomi dress. I love this one as much as the first two I made!

It's a loose fitting top that is really comfortable and easy to wear. I didn't add any length to the pattern at all, so if you are taller than me (5'1") that might be something that you want to consider. I am in love with the linen/rayon that I used for this top and the drape is just perfect for this style shirt. The book shows the Kiomi in standard quilting cotton too which gives it more structure and flare. It's always nice to have options!

Next up for me are the Owyn pants. I've started them and I can tell already there are going to be super comfortable! Maybe I will finish them next weekend.

Check out the other garments I made from the book: Pilvi Coat, Restyled Esme, & Tedra Skirt.

Just the details:

Pattern name: Esme Top

Fabric used: Ephemera double gauze in peach from Cotton & Steel (similar)

Size: 10

Changes: Let out the seam allowance in the arms.

Pattern name: Esme Tunic

Fabric used: Americana Mammoth Flannel (similar)

Size: 10

Changes: Let out the seam allowance in the arms.

Pattern name: Kiomi Top

Fabric used: Brussels Washer Linen/Rayon in Midnight (I love this fabric so much! It’s got the perfect drape.)

Size: 10

Changes: Enlarged the arms holes slightly and used a the binding from the Wiksten Tank instead of double fold bias to finish the raw edges.

Side note: I’m a meager 5’1”. I did not adjust the length, so if you are taller you may want to consider lengthening it.

Coming Soon!

Pattern name: Onxy Pants

Fabric used: Manchester in Poppy (Another beautiful fabric. It’s a cotton slub that almost feels like linen.)

Size 10

Changes: None yet but I think I will have to add some rise to the back and figure out the right length for my short legs.

bottom of page